NHMRC Funding Brings Us Closer To Treatments


A Career Development Fellowship grant from the NHMRC of $431,000 will bring us closer to developing new drugs to treat mitochondrial disease (mito), understanding how mitochondria function and identifying new disease genes.

The grant will enable Dr David Stroud from Monash University to continue his investigation into mitochondrial function and dysfunction in disease. Using cutting edge CRISPR gene-editing technology, Dr Stroud will create disease models that mimic different types of mito. Highly sensitive quantitative proteomics, a method of identifying problems within a cell by sampling all the proteins within it simultaneously, will then be used to understand how candidate drugs work to improve mitochondrial function.

Dr David Stroud

The Mito Foundation congratulates Dr Stroud on receiving the award and thanks the NHMRC for recognising the urgent need for research into mito and facilitating this important work.

In 2014 the Mito Foundation awarded Dr Stroud an Incubator Grant worth $25,000 to further his work into the molecular diagnosis of mito through quantitative proteomics.  His work alongside Nicole Lake, an the Mito Foundation PhD Scholarship recipient, identified a new cause of Leigh Disease, the most common form of childhood mito. Their research showed that quantitative proteomics could be a vital aspect of improving diagnostic rates – and therefore enabling patients to access the specialist care they desperately need.

This is an exciting example of how valuable the Mito Foundation’s Incubator Grants are. Many funding bodies, including the NHMRC, require a track record of research before funding can be given. Incubator Grants bridge that gap, funding the initial research and taking it to a point where larger grants can be applied for.

Dr Stroud was acknowledged for his contribution to mitochondrial research with the Mito Foundation-funded AussieMit awards in 2012 and 2014. AussieMit is Australia’s premier mitochondrial disease conference, supported by the Mito Foundation.